Board of Trustees

The Newmarket Primary School Board of Trustees (BOT) comprises of 5 tri-annually elected community/parent representatives, together with the Principal and a staff representative. The Board of Trustees is committed to frequent communication with the community and they will seek your views on significant issues that affect the school.


The Board of Trustee hold 8 meetings a year at 6.15pm in the staffroom. Notice of the meeting is published in the schools newsletter. These are public meetings and you are welcome to attend If you wish to have a copy of the agenda and minutes please ask at the school office.


A Message from the BOT Chairperson

The Board of Trustees goal is to provide the infrastructure that ensures that all children attending Newmarket Primary School receive the best instruction available. We support our dedicated, professional staff in ensuring all children have a healthy, safe and friendly environment in which to reach their potential. The skilful and enthusiastic approach to education provided by Newmarket Primary School gives our children an excellent start on which to build a strong future.

School contact

  • email: School Office
  • Address: 7-11 Gillies Ave, Newmarket, Auckland. 1023
  • Telephone: 09 520 2959


  • Gayle Hackwell: Board Chairperson
  • Email Gayle
  • Dr Wendy Kofoed: Principal - 09 520 2959
  • Email Wendy
  • Sonya Van Schaijik: Secretary - 09 520 2959
  • Email Sonya
  • Virginia Kung: Staff rep & DP
  • Email Virginia
  • Tess Brothersen
  • Dina Dosmukhambetova
  • Catherine Skudder
  • Tim Johnson

BOT elected 10/6/2019

Gayle Hackwell Chairperson Board of Trustees

NPS 2019-21 Governance and Policy Framework.pdf
Newmarket School (1391) Draft Plan 2020.pdf
Newmarket School Annual Report 2019.pdf